There's a DATALOSS bug in the 'Publish' path

There’s a DATALOSS bug in the ‘Publish’ path.

To reproduce, on desktop:

  1. Edit the Agent.
  2. Click the Publish button in the top right.
  3. Enter details in the Version Name text field, and the Version Description text area.
  4. There are two ‘Publish’ buttons on screen: the top right one, and another at the bottom of the form, next to the ‘Cancel’ button.
  5. Click the wrong one, the ‘Publish’ button on the top right, and the form disappears.
  6. Click it again realizing it was erroneous, and both the text field and text area data is gone and needs to be retyped.

A simple fix is to remember those values and re-populate them if the user clicks the top right ‘Publish’ button by accident, then presses it again.

Also note, the user merely needs to click outside the form to make the form disappear, and along with it, anything that the user typed.

Another way to handle it is to keep the form present unless one of the form’s buttons are pressed: the Cancel button, or the form’s Publish button. And, maybe only do this if the user had typed anything; allow the user to dismiss the form by clicking outside it, if no typed data would be lost.

Hey @ken.atpp

Thanks for the detailed report and reproduction steps.

I’ll check this with the relevant team to review the behavior and see if there’s anything else needed from your end.

I’ll get back to you as soon as I have an update.

Best Regards.